Let me show you a Kenyan school

This is Suzy Peacock highschool and this is where I spend my last couple of weeks. Suzy Peacock is a boarding school and and hosts more than 200 students. The other day I finally got the opportunity to just spend half a day going around the school taking photos. They are now at the end of their school year so no lessons were taking place this day, hence the empty classrooms.

IMG_4533

IMG_4509

The morning I had planned to go to the school I had been struggling with practical things that I had to organize for my departure and arrived at the school later than I had planned. As I approached the school I saw the priest standing on the stairs. He visitis the school every Tuesday to hold Bible study sessions with the teachers. Fuck, I thought, I had forgot it was Tuesday and the Bible study was just about to start. I had already sat through two of these sessions and I thought that I would literarily die of boredom and frustration if I were to sit through one more, constantly afraid that he would tell me to lead the prayers or to say something at all. I was determent to find a way to sneak away.

I managed to escape to the kitchen where i was warmly greeted by the staff and shown around. They make all their food over fire for more than 200 students each day. The usual meal is bean and corn stew, cabbage ugali, and sometimes meat. The kitchen staff wake up at four every morning to start preparing breakfast for the students.

IMG_4417

IMG_4407IMG_4395IMG_4405

I ate in the kitchen and then I was shown the lab by one of the chemistry teachers Mrs. Toto She proudly showed me the latest addition, bones from a goat. She told me how they had bought and slaughtered a goat so that the students could learn from observing the bones.

IMG_4423
IMG_4432
IMG_4441

Later one of the students, Rose, took over the tour and I got to take some photos of the girls dormitory. They sleep 50 girls in one room. I was surprised at how clean and tidy it was and she told me that they sweep and mop the floors every morning. I tried to imagine any Swedish teenagers doing that, not happening…As I got inside the head of being a teenager imagined that some of the beds must be more popular than others. I was right, when I mentioned it to Rose she smiled and whispered pointing at the bed in the far back corner and told me that next semester she was going to make sure to arrive really early in the morning so that she could get it.

IMG_4457IMG_4463

I also got to see all the animals at the school. The chicken, the cows and the calves. The four cows provide the school with all the milk they need and the chicken are their supplier for eggs. I also got to meet Mr. and Mrs. Rabbit. They are a school project where the students get to observe and handle rabbit breeding.

IMG_4492
IMG_4451
IMG_4447

We continued and walked around in the classrooms to see what the other students were up to. This is the gang that takes care of the music during the sermons in the evenings. Just boys…

IMG_4499

As I made my way home that day I thought about the experiences that I had and realized that the fact that I had a camera and came with the intention to document the school gave me a reason to interact with people with whom I had never interacted before and see corners of the school that I had not seen.

5 thoughts on “Let me show you a Kenyan school

  1. Hej Mia!

    Vilka fina bilder du tar, och jag förstår ditt resonemang i ett tidigare inlägg om att ta kort på människor. Jag gjorde praktik i Bangladesh för några år sedan och där sticker man också ut mkt som vit, och framförallt som vit kvinna. När jag tog kort på människor brukade jag fråga dom först, eller om det var ett magiskt ögonblick tog jag kort först och visade efteråt för att få eventuellt godkännande.

    Men, det är egentligen inte därför jag kommenterar. Jag heter Magdalena och jag har fått ett MFS-stipendium för att utföra en fältstudie för min master under våren 2016. Har inte lyckats hitta ngn bekräftelse på huruvida jag behöver ett forskningstillstånd eller inte, det är en rätt omständlig process och jag vill ogärna dra igång byråkratiska processer i utvecklingsländer eftersom det ofta är en riktig pain. Så: har du ett forskningstillstånd? Vad för slags visum är du på? Jag är dig evigt tacksam!

    Bästa hälsningar,
    Magdalena

    Like

    1. Tack Magdalena och tack för tipset om att fota folk först och sedan visa dem bilderna. Grattis till stipendiet!! Ska du åka till Kenya alltså? Just angående det där med forskningstillstånd var något vi diskuterade mycket under MFS-kursen och ingen ville ge oss något ordentligt svar. Vad jag har förstått det som att de allra flesta åker på turistvisum utan forskningstillstånd förutom de som ska göra sina studier på sjukhus eller andra kliniker. Jag är här på ett vanligt turistvisum utan forskningstillstånd och det har hittills gått bra att både komma in och ut ur landet (har åkt på semester ett par dagar till Uganda och Rwanda). Har du fler frågor eller funderingar är det bara att du hör av dig!

      Like

      1. Hej Mia! Tack för ditt svar. Det närmar sig den lösningen för mig också. Vad skrev du på “syfte för resa”, skrev du studie eller turism?

        Ser fram emot ett nytt inlägg! Eller du kanske är på hemväg snart?

        Like

  2. Ja, jag skrev turism! Jag har haft så mycket att göra med uppsatsen så bloggen har nedprioriterats på att göra listan. Instagram uppdaterar mer regelbundet om du bara vill se lite bilder. Sedan jag skrev inlägget har jag hunnit med en liten semester i Uganda och Rwanda också. Det rekommenderar jag verkligen om du känner att du har tid medan du är i Kenya, ett tips är i så fall att skaffa EAC visum på Nairobis flygplats. Jag är kvar i Kenya i ungefär en vecka till sedan tar jag julledigt och reser ner mot Kapstaden. När åker du? Vad ska du göra? Var i Kenya kommer du att vara?

    Like

Leave a Reply

