Spontaneous excursion with elephants and giraffes

On Sunday morning when I went outside to have my breakfast there was another traveler sitting by one of the tables. I sat down with my breakfast at the same table and we started to talk. Her name was Lauren and she told me that she had just arrived the same morning, that she had just one day in Nairobi and that she was going to spend it on the elephant orphanage and the giraffe centre. I was so tempted to ask if I could come with her but I had other things that I thought I should do.
IMG_3402
A few minutes later a guy came and sat down with us at the table. We were just in the middle of the conversation about the animal excursions. His name was Florian and he asked if he could join. Yes, Lauren said, but they would leave in just 10 minutes. I had just finish my breakfast and some quick thinking made me decide wanted to come too.
IMG_3555
I’m not a spontaneous person in general and I usually hate when things don’t turn out as I’ve planned but hostels seems to thrive with so much spontaneity and casual friendships that it’s hard not to get carried away. A day which I had planned to spend with work on my computer turned out to be something completely different but great.
IMG_3395
Both places are well worth seeing if you are in Nairobi especially the elephant orphanage where it seemed like the elephants were really in their natural habitat. The entrance for the Elephant Orphanage is 500 ksh and 1000 ksh for the giraffe centre. As you can see from the photos you are able get really close to the animals as well as feed them and pat them which you wouldn’t be able to do on a safari. The animals seem to be in a really good environment in both places which is something important to consider. The places are really close to each other in the suburb called Karen (named after Karen Blixen) which is just about 30 min drive from Nairobi.

IMG_3570
When we were done with the animals we asked out driver to drop us off in town where we had some lunch before we headed back to the hostel. All in all it was a really good day. I day which I wouldn’t have experienced if it wasn’t for the spontaneity that thrives at hostels where everyone is your friend for a short while.

Leave a Reply

