To-do lists and long hours at the library

Last Friday I had my last day at the school where I have been doing my teacher training. As much as I love the kids and my colleagues it was such a relief to have it over and done with. As I walked home that afternoon it felt like a weight had lifted from my shoulders, now I could just focus on essay writing and the fact that I was leaving for Kenya in less than two weeks (today it’s about one and a half week left).

Later the same evening I went to meet my boyfriend at the train station and we had a few beers to celebrate and talked as we hadn’t talked for ages. The positive thing about being apart is that we have so much to talk about when we finally see each other. But after a long relaxing weekend together it was time to say goodbye again on Sunday afternoon.

This week started off with very long hours at the library. I love the fact that I can sit there for as long as I want to and just cross things off my to-do list as the day passes by. After almost five weeks of teaching I enjoy the fact that I don’t have to socialize or be nice to anyone. I can just mind my own business and nobody and nothing will interrupt me while I’m working.

My to-do list is filled with things that need to be prepared for my trip and things that I have to write and read for my essay. I have a lot of work that needs to be done but I try to enjoy every part of it. I do feel stressed some times but feelings of happiness rush through me more often. I’m happy, I’m excited and I’m curious about what awaits on the other side of this project.

Leave a Reply

