Oh that’s nice…Is it dangerous in Kenya?

This is one of the most common questions I get when I tell people I’m traveling to Kenya.
There are people who in consternation wonder why on earth I even consider going there. I have a difficult time responding to that since I can’t understand why one wouldn’t want to go there.

IMG_2133

Some people think it sounds exciting but can’t keep themselves from asking, if it’s dangerous, and I have to explain.
The first couple of times I was asked that question I became rather irritated because I expected people to know better. But then I realized that this is part of the project I’m doing.

IMG_2134

Besides going to a developing country to collect data for my thesis it’s also about making contact with people and partly also to inform people about Kenya and developing countries in general.
To be honest, I didn’t expect that I would have to inform people about that it is actually possible to go to Kenya, I mean Kenya is a rather large tourist destination. But at least, now they will know that one can travel to Kenya.
Leave a Reply

